Former Bank brankch excess inventory sale

5 Replies

Hey, Has anyone had any experience purchasing excess bank real estate inventory? Is there anything to specifically look for or be careful of? There’s a former bank branch that I may be able to purchase for really cheap, but have no experience in this or commercial in general. To be honest, I have no plan in this case, but if I can get it for cheap enough perhaps it’s worth it? Thanks!

Are you talking about the building specifically? 

I have some experience, having knocked down a drive through location and replaced it with a national food service company in a nice town and then also purchasing a historic bank building and leasing it out as office space. In both transactions there is nothing to different then other real estate transactions. 

Take a look at what the local zoning will allow to come into the space or let you build if the building is too odd. After that figure out who some prospective tenants might be and what the going rate for similar space in your area is. (I.E. how much would a new tenant pay to be in the space). Then figure out how much tenant improvement work you need to do to get that new tenant and you have your future income and your repairs figure. Once you know the income you can calculate your NOI and then apply a whatever cap rate is applicable for your area and product type to find the ARV, and you can get a sense of what you need to get the property for to make it a deal.

You are basically purchasing a 100% vacant stand alone building, make sure you feel confident on who your future tenant is and that there is demand for the space. 

Originally posted by @Steve Wilcox :

Are you talking about the building specifically?