Zoning Variance for Self Storage - hard to get?

7 Replies

Hey everyone, I wanted to ask if anyone has experience applying for zoning variances for self storage? A partner and I own a warehouse in a small market that we're interested in converting to self storage, but it's in a "mixed commercial/residential" zoning part of town, and the only zoning classifications that are permitted to build self storage per their code are the purely commercial zones. This is my first time ever navigating zoning and building permitting, so I don't know how flexible or rigid these things are.

Given that the new self-storage facility would be a big improvement over the current vacant and dilapidated warehouse it seems like it would be in their best interest, but I've heard that the local government can be very strict including preventing expansion on another nearby self-storage facility by changing their zoning. We both have strong local ties and care about the town and genuinely want to do what's best for the community, and self storage appears the only thing feasible for development on the property except warehouse space. Can anyone provide insight on what to expect and how to maximize my chance of success here?

This will be entirely dependent on the town and it's willingness to see your vision for the property. I've had it done with ease before. I've also been shut down for some pretty bs political reasons. And these properties where in neighboring towns just miles from one another. Your point about improving the property from it's current state should carry some water for you. You'll also want to impress upon them the benefits to the town that come with that, increased tax base, low traffic business, etc. Good luck and keep us posted.