Buying a Multi family unit

12 Replies

Hey guys I am a newbie to get this out there . I found a multi family unit , it’s located right beside a nice college . It’s 9 units , Needs no repairs , Its 100% rented out which means no vacancys Total gross rent is 6615 a month They owner who is retiring wants 495,000 for the property’s My questions I don’t have a lot of cash for this deal how could I make this work ? As always Thank you for your responds ! NF

Hi Noah,

There are multiple ways for financing the deal but might depend on how much cash are you looking for. You can pls go for partnership with other investor(s) who can partially fund the deal or ask if seller is willing for seller financing the deal.

Rgds

Kishore 

@Noah Farley I would recommend you read and listen to what the @Gino Barbaro and his partner Jake have created with their MFH properties. They have some creative ways to buy properties. I would start by asking the seller to hold a % to help you get in the deal. You can pay it off as the property appreciates and you go from a recourse loan to non-recourse. Gino can explain more and better details. 

Congrats on the find! Best of luck to you. 

@Noah Farley From napkin math, looks like $735 a month in rents. Is that the going rate for the rents in the area? How much more could you reposition the property without pushing out tenants? What is the property appraised for? Have you done a walk-through of the property? Again, Gino might have some ideas on financing and he has almost 1000 units, so he knows more about it. He says you need to look at 100 deals to make offers on 10 that turn into 1 getting accepted. I hope this works for you, but if not, look at it as practice for the next one.