Multi family bubble- wait or jump in?

55 Replies

I am a San Diego realtor and broker. I have been seeking a multi family complex where I can house hack for a couple years now with no luck on anything that remotely makes sense. All the deals I analyze are negative cash flow. Tempted to go out of state to start in investing and continue renting locally. Many believe multifamily is facing a bubble. Best to just wait for a correction or crash in the asset class or move forward if the numbers work? Thanks

@John Reardon I think that MF is in a severe shortage in most areas and perhaps more plentiful in others. Certainly not anything much at a cash flowing price anywhere from Tijuana to Vancouver BC! I am in Western Wa and ready to buy should a decent deal that meets my criteria come along. The only markets that are cooling in MF are those that shot up too fast anyway, and even there it is primarily SFR and not MF. Might MF go down? Sure; and all the more reason to not compromise on your criteria. Al the best!

Thats 2 years of debt paydown and likely appreciation you missed out on, while helping to build your current landlords wealth instead of your own.

To my mind, if you're buy-and-hold then who cares about a bubble. You're buying for cash flow, not appreciation. Bubble or not, everyone needs a roof over their head. Analysis show $150 a door cash flow or better? Make an offer!

Predicting the top and bottom of the RE market is as difficult as predicting the top and bottom of the stock market.  Most investors who attempt to time the market do so poorly.