Looking for Real Estate Market Knowledge in Indiana

11 Replies

Hi, I'm new to real estate investing and looking to gain some market knowledge on a few different areas in Indiana. I'm looking to target multi-family and apartment properties in areas such as South Bend, Fort Wayne, and Indianapolis. Would love to get some feedback from anyone who currently lives in these area or has investment properties there.

I'd like to start by acquiring any insight into current supply trends in these areas, as well as the demand based on occupancy for these types of properties. Are these currently good markets to begin looking into for a first time investor? Side note, I do have a lot of friends and family in these areas so I am knowledgeable of the areas and do have boots on the ground to help out where needed. But obviously looking to gain knowledge from an investment perspective.

Thanks in advance for all the help and insight!

- Josh

@Josh Levan I'm a RE Broker in South Bend for the last 8 years. I've lived here my who life. Multifamily are always profitable. We have a decent amount of duplex/triplex, but definitely have a shortage of the larger 8+ units. My investors usually run about 10-12% ROI. I think this is pretty good compared to many other areas. I have a duplex listing in Mishawaka, IN right now, a little overpriced but they are getting $1000+ per month. Have seen some great deals over the years on Multifamily and have some investors who only want them. Great developing area. Although, I'm a little biased :) Best of luck!