Am I dreaming too big

40 Replies

I’m a CNA ( nurses assistant) I’m very much interested in house hacking hopefully a duplex or triplex but sometimes I feel like it’s not for me my income is not great and I have bad credit should I just give up this dream ? Are there other people who do not make six figures that have succeeded in real estate? Where should I start?

Hey @Star Dawson .  First off, I haven't even made my first deal so I'm no pro but Ill get there someday.  From what I have read and heard on the Bigger Pockets podcast is that house hacking is the way to go if you are just starting out so im confident you are on the right track.  Also, there are so many ways you can find money to get a property, you just have to have a little creativity with a lot of passion and ambition! I can't give you much advice but what I can tell you is if you really want it, you'll get it! Good luck STAR!  ( you can also house hack 2 story homes or homes with a couple of rooms)

@Star Dawson

I would work on the credit, credit can get improved within 1-2 years of paying on time, and also save some money for a down payment (sometimes u can get a loan for 5% down or even less)

You can purchase duplexes for really cheap in some areas, you just need look for them.

I totally recommend you on purchasing books about real estate from amazon, theres good material out there.

I’ve studied 3 months (everyday reading) from books before making my first deal.

Nothing comes easily..

And giving up is for losers don’t you ever do that! And trust me I was born to a very poor family, we barely had food ain’t silver spoon’d, had no excuses why not to go into real estate.

Good luck!

Start reading all that you can get your hands on, go to the library if you can’t buy books comfortably, start with Rich dad, poor dad. Kiyosaki will tell you that making money isn’t really about starting off with a great job or a lot of money.