BUILD-UP CONSTRUCTION PROJECT

6 Replies

I am in the process of helping out a potential investor in the design and construction of a few multi-family residential projects in Kansas City. I am being tasked with providing design input as well as all of the documentation needed to make these projects a reality, the problem is...I have no idea where to start. Can anyone provide guidance to the built-up construction process? 

Thanks!

@Greg Dickerson I am a full-time architect, however i am just fresh out of school and have very little knowledge on residential projects. 

Basically he is asking me to make his ideas into a reality. I see it as an opportunity to gain trust and knowledge on the process of built-up construction, I am just now sure what my first steps should be. Do I reach out to a contractor, are there permits I need to look into, etc?

Originally posted by @Hector Martinez Rosales :

@Greg Dickerson I am a full-time architect, however i am just fresh out of school and have very little knowledge on residential projects. 

Basically he is asking me to make his ideas into a reality. I see it as an opportunity to gain trust and knowledge on the process of built-up construction, I am just now sure what my first steps should be. Do I reach out to a contractor, are there permits I need to look into, etc?

Yes there are zoning and permit considerations. Yes you should find a qualified GC to work with on this. Are you with a firm? 

@Hector Martinez Rosales

Hi Hector,

I am in the process of helping out a potential investor in the design and construction of a few multi-family residential projects ......... I am being tasked with providing design input as well as all of the documentation needed to make these projects a reality, the problem is...I have no idea where to start. Can anyone provide guidance to the built-up construction process

In a best case scenario (to avoid the blind leading the blind):