How useful is Zillow for finding a good investment property?

12 Replies

Hello,

I am extremely new to all of this and was wondering how effective zillow is in finding up-to-date properties.  It is such a simple, user-friendly app on my iphone but I wonder if it may be a little out of date with some of the listings?  Has anyone ever found and successfully purchased a property that they found on zillow?  I probably spend too much time on this app- but, it's a great app that motivates me to continue looking at properties...just curious on your thoughts.  Thank you. 

haven't had or heard of anybody with success but keep an eye out for pre foreclosure properties. I ran into a potential lead on  zillow  with pre foreclosure by driving by that property and seeing a for rent sign out front.. Meaning he was desperate to sale before it went into foreclosure ;)  depending on what your niche is it could be useful. Broaden your ways of finding properties though ( yellow letters, driving for dollars, real estate agent or just even networking, etc etc) Hope that helps some

I have found Zillow to be inaccurate, outdated and have unresponsive and apathetic staff giving non-answers to questions. But other than that, they are only somewhat inadequate at what they do. Can you tell that I am not a fan yet?

I check several properties through Zillow, they were off over 20% on every property, it appears the use tax assessments and other data to (like economic factors and appreciation) to value a property.  From what others have posted they are not accurate.

Zillow is a product, figures lie and liars figure, Harry Homeowner doesn't have a clue what his house is worth and for whatever reason he needs a valuation, there is Zillow to give him an answer. I would not use them for anything, much less depend on such a valuation as an investment basis. IMO :)