Is now a good time to start investing?

34 Replies

Hey everybody! I’m new to REI and am planning on purchasing my first deal in the next couple monthes I have been talking to investors in my area of southeast Wisconsin and a lot of people have told me we are at the top of the market and it’s not a good time to buy. Just wanted to hear some opinions from some experienced investors! any advice is greatly appreciated thank you in advanced!
Originally posted by @Nicholas Mullens :
Hey everybody! I’m new to REI and am planning on purchasing my first deal in the next couple monthes I have been talking to investors in my area of southeast Wisconsin and a lot of people have told me we are at the top of the market and it’s not a good time to buy. Just wanted to hear some opinions from some experienced investors! any advice is greatly appreciated thank you in advanced!

That's a bit of a loaded question. Are you doing a Fix & Flip or a Buy & Hold? Is your goal long term cash flow or quick cash? Do you know anything about financing, or are you paying cash? Can you swing a hammer or are you going to hire people to do the work? Have you put together a rehab budget before? Are you committed to SE Wisconsin or will you look at other areas? 

@Mike M. Sorry about being so vague I plan on purchasing small multi family to hold long term for cash flow. I plan on using financing, I have a family member who works at a local bank who is helping me with financing. I have been working doing exterior home improvement for the last 3 years and also know how to do basic plumbing and electric so was planning on doing a lot of the work myself. I’m mostly considering South east Wisconsin but would consider anything within a couple hours of my home town of Burlington! I’ve just had a lot of people telling me not to buy right now and wanted to hear some more opinions before I purchase my first deal!