Where to start For Someone New?

8 Replies

Hey there everyone! Nice to meet you all. I am new to real estate investing. I just boight tbe vook Rich Dad Poor Dad and found it to be amazing. I am the fresh meat here when it comes to investing. I been watching some youtube videos about investing & listening to the bigger pockets podcast but I know almost nothing about where or how to start investing from nothing. I work a full time job atm, I am a father of 3 kids and a spouse. Currently my income is horrible so I got nothing saved to start investing but regardless I am determined to get out of the rut & give my family a better life. Guess what I am saying is asking where to start with no money. My credit is around like 645 so not sure what that would do. Am working on making it better. If anyone could point me in the right direction that would help tremendously. Thanks for listening.

My personal recommendation to both of you is to make sure your personal life is in order, especially financially. Try to eliminate as much debt (if not all) as you can. It’ll help with your ability to get a loan since you don’t have a lot of money. 

If you don't have debt, you aren't making payments on things that won't make you money. You can take the money you would normally use for debt payments (like credit card or car payments) and save it until you have enough for a down payment on a house. There are many strategies once you have a little money. You can take an FHA loan and live in the house for a bit (house hack), or if you have enough money you could use Hard Money or Conventional Financing.