What to do with $150,000

9 Replies

We refinanced our house to purchase a property we were going to run as a STR. Closing costs to refinance were $2500. We had enough home equity to pay cash for the house. Seller backed out on deal. Advice on how and where to invest or use the money. We could just put it back toward mortgage but would like to purchase some assets.

@Jenni Utz . Thank you! I know Brandon Turner says it doesn’t have to be a buyers market because there are always good deals to be found but what is your opinion on what the housing market will do in the near future?

It’s looking like I am going to be homeschooling 3 kids this year so I am a little concerned on being able to commit to 2 properties, especially because they would be my first properties. I just started learning about 4-5 months ago!

@Kayla Utley I would definitely recommend that you get started in RE by using that money to buy your first few units. I have an incredibly stressful job as a professor, commute 2 hours per day, homeschool my 9th grader (she’s pretty self-sufficient) and own and self-manage 13 units and about to grow to 50 units…and quit my day job finally…yes it is hard work (and my husband is definitely neglected but he has a $3M net worth now so…) you can do it!! 

@Dante Pirouz

Thank you for your advice! It sounds like you have a lot to be proud of! Congratulations on all of your successes!😄 I saw you were from Michigan as well and wanted to connect. We are from Northern Michigan and still haven’t made our first purchase yet but we are working towards it! We have the money, we are working on finding the deal!😁

Utilize leveraging with how cheap it is. I'd buy STR. You could BRRR. Flip. Go into MF(up to 600K). Syndications. Turn key SF's. Partner