Seeking "Biggest Mistake/Lesson Learned" Tenant Stories

39 Replies

Hey everyone!

I am writing a regular column for BiggerPockets Wealth Magazine on “Biggest Mistakes/Lessons Learned” in real estate.

I am currently looking for TENANT "mistake" stories, in particular inherited tenants and/or tenant challenges due to Covid.

If you have stories you would like to share, please post them here, DM me, or email me at melanie @ biggerpockets.com.

I'm looking forward to reading your stories! Thank you!

Hi Melanie,

I work as a property manager and the lesson I learned from this job and for my future investment plans is ALWAYS INTERVIEW APPLICANTS.

I say this because there are a few residents here who are trouble makers and when you talk to them you can tell they are full of sh*t. What I mean by that is they regularly contradict themselves and they try to worm their way out of responsibility for anything they do or redirect the conversation to what their neighbors are doing. I'm sure you can't catch every trouble maker but you can usually get a pretty good first impression from talking to people for a few minutes.

These tenants I'm speaking of don't pay their rent late. The main problem is that they don't follow the rules and they bother their neighbors. This leads to complaints, which means more work for me. (The owners aren't really affected though as long as they pay their rent.)

One has roommates who are not allowed and aren't on the lease and he admitted that he has no income while I was explaining that he has to get them to move out. The first time I met him, I knew he was full of it in the first 2 minutes of speaking to him.