Leveraging existing 4plex (owned outright) for another deal

7 Replies

(Intro note: First time poster; regular pod listener. Have begun focusing on real estate investment in just the past 18 months, doing 3 deals, so I'm a relative newbie; confident I'll have follow-up questions. And thank you!)

I own (through a trust) a Fourplex, purchased this year, owned outright (per a 1031 exchange). It was a Buy, Rehab, Rent and ____. There was no financing, so it's just a BRR_...and would like to explore the brrRefinance of some sort. (It generates ~$4400 gross monthly rent with a Zillow value (I know that doesn't count) of 540k.) 

I want to use the asset to leverage another multifamily property. What's the best route? Commercial loan 30% down with 5 years fixed (that was a local bank's initial suggestion)? Conventional mortgage on the NEXT property, and just use income from the initial fourplex, without burdening that initial fourplex with debt? Something else? 

I would opt to sell it as soon as possible with the rent to property value being so low. Based on the value of your dead equity you are deep into negative cash flow.

Alternately  get a 30 year mortgage on it for as much as you can get out of it.  If it does not produce positive cash flow with maximum financing you are back to selling.

Thanks so much for the reply. Would prefer the loan option. There is still a chance for more rental revenue. And might need to buy out of my area to get better performance. (In Portland, market cap rates for 2-4 units are not very owner favorable.) Although I hear you on your advice to consider selling.

That said, what's the best method to get a loan/mortgage on an existing income property? My ham-handed research is getting mixed results. On one hand, some say it's readily doable (https://www.trulia.com/voices/Financing/How_can_I_mortgage_an_investment_property_that_I_o-248127)