Help getting a loan as a 1099 worker!

10 Replies

Hi everybody,

I’m a commission only salesman and having a heck of a time getting a loan. I’ve been in my current position for 9 months and recently graduated college. I understand that some lenders may accept 1 year of commission only if you are a recent college graduate.

If anyone knows any great lenders in Ohio (specifically Cleveland) that would be able to help me navigate this please PM me!

Originally posted by @Max Horenstein :

Hi everybody,

I’m a commission only salesman and having a heck of a time getting a loan. I’ve been in my current position for 9 months and recently graduated college. I understand that some lenders may accept 1 year of commission only if you are a recent college graduate.

If anyone knows any great lenders in Ohio (specifically Cleveland) that would be able to help me navigate this please PM me!

The simple solution is to make more money and purchase cash. Haha, jokes aside, I would reach out to a hard money lender or commercial lender, both will be more flexible with lending without 2 years of work history. All conventional banks that I've spoken to will require two-year work history. I have a list, I can send over if you'd like. 

If you have a lot of cash and good credit you can use a hard money lender such as LimaOne. If you want a nice 30yr fixed fannie loan you will need minimum 1 year of commissions and they'd take the 2 year average of it (essentially cut your income in half for underwriting if its only been a year). The biggest things they really want is tax returns to prove the financials.

Are you looking for a primary home loan or investment loan? If you can find asset-based loans to purchase flips or rental properties. You will may a little higher interest rate, and normally need a little more in downpayment but it's a great way to get started!