• Sacramento, CA
Votes |
Best practices in structuring seller financing

Richard Goore
Pro Member
  • Realtor
  • Sacramento, CA
Posted Nov 15 2018, 12:47

I wanted to reach out to the BP community and lean on you for advice and to learn. I have a client (I'm a licensed RE agent) who's home I am selling. I was just approached from a neighbor who is interested purchasing with seller financing. I always want to provide my clients with detailed explanations of options when buying or selling so they (with my guidance) can make informed decisions that will be the best option for the results they are seeking.

I have never done a RE transaction with seller financing. I understand the general concept but I am not comfortable enough yet with the details to accurately explain the positives and potential negatives to my client. I've researched the topic on BP, but I am not finding the best explanation based on my clients situation. I would love you input!

Let me explain the situation with regards to the property. My client inherited this property from her mother when she passed away a few years ago. It is a single family home on a property that is zoned commercial. The official zoning is C-RS (commercial rural service) but as the home was built is 1919 so it is existing, non-conforming and can be used as a SFH or commercial business. It is surrounded by a cabinet shop on the left side, a couple commercial buildings in the back alley that are used primarily as storage for various businesses and a bar on the right side. It is in a very small town (about a block long) and sits directly on a major thoroughfare through the area. There have been tenants that were finally evicted a month ago. My client has cleaned up all the trash/crap the tenants left and is planning to clean inside and paint a little to make it more presentable. It most likely needs a some rehab work for someone to make it a good SFH again. There are years of deferred maintenance.