Beginner looking for good landlord books

13 Replies

Hey all,

I am totally new to real estate investing.  I live at the South Jersey Shore area (just outside AC) and want to get into renting out properties for income, while building value in them.

Does anyone have any good book recommendations on how to be a landlord, what I'm getting myself into (the lifestyle, if it can be something I can manage if I have to relocate) and how to form a good business plan going in so I'm making money instead of losing it and getting into a headache.

Thanks in advance!

Hey Ian,

There are quite a few articles that have the best real estate books. Here are some links:

http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2013/04/14...

http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2013/10/14...

I would browse through the ones that deal with the topics you are looking for.

2 that are mentioned in these posts and that I have personally read are Landlording on Autopilot and What Every Real Estate Investor Needs to Know About Cashflow. They should both provide a sound foundation for you to then go dig deeper and grow in your real estate literacy.

Best of luck to you.

Originally posted by @Ian Fenwick:

Hey all,

I am totally new to real estate investing.  I live at the South Jersey Shore area (just outside AC) and want to get into renting out properties for income, while building value in them.

Does anyone have any good book recommendations on how to be a landlord, what I'm getting myself into (the lifestyle, if it can be something I can manage if I have to relocate) and how to form a good business plan going in so I'm making money instead of losing it and getting into a headache.

Thanks in advance!

Welcome to BP Ian,

Although not directly RE related I believe they are the best 2 books an entrepreneur should read.

Thinks and Grow Rich

How to Win Friends and Influence People

Thanks and have a great day.