Eviction in progress - Can I shutoff utilities?

9 Replies

So I have this tenant in my 3 unit complex that I've had a lot of problems with over the last few months. Aside from these issues, she stopped paying rent at the beginning of August. I really want her out of there and have already started the eviction process but it can take quite a long time to wrap up. The other tenants are getting fed up with her and are threatening to move out.

Utilities are included in her rent, meaning I pay them. So what I am wondering is, since she hasn't paid rent/utils can I call the utility company and have them shutoff her gas and electric? She is currently living in her motor-home outside her unit running an extension cord from inside. I think turning off the electricity could be the motivation she needs to move on down the road, but I don't want to do anything illegal.

I am new at this and this is my first eviction. The advice of more seasoned landlords would be welcome. Oh and this is in Colorado if that makes any difference.

Thanks!

If she stopped paying rent first of August why is she still there?  Evictions are usually pretty quick here.  Try these guys:  http://www.thslawfirm.com/

Not sure they work in Co Springs, but they can point you to someone if they don't.

No, you cannot just turn off the utilities.   That's a "self help" eviction and will make a bad situation worse.

You definitely don't want to shut off any utilities cause as Jon stated that would be considered a self help eviction which is just more trouble. Just follow thru with the eviction doing everything by the book.

so she's not living in your complex but in a trailor next to it and basically just mooching off electricity? Did she she take her stuff to? If so, Doesn't that count as she vacated already?