Contact tenants when using PM?

11 Replies

I'm fairly new to the whole landlord thing and have a general question regarding contact with tenants when using a property manager. How many of you that use a property manager reach out to your tenants anyway and give them your contact info? I currently have 2 SFH with 2 different property managers (homes are 250 miles apart). I have plenty of faith in one PM company, but I'm already suspicious of the other after only 2 months into the agreement. I want my tenants to be able to reach out to me in case they have an issue with the PM, but don't want to bring a bunch of hassle and negate the value of having a PM.

Am I asking for more headaches by reaching out to the tenants directly, or is it a reasonable thing to do?

@Rob Myers   my tenants have no clue who I am or any of my contact info, and I like it that way. I receive no phone calls from them ever, yet I have all of their contact info just in case I need it. At the same time I trust my property managers will make the right decisions unless they prove to me they won't, and they only contact me in extreme circumstances (expensive repairs, etc.)

Believe me, the second you give the tenants your info, they will no longer call the PM, but they will call you about every little thing. They may even try to pay you instead of the PM. If they are going to be late on the rent, they will call you with some hard luck story. Sorry, but I don't want to hear it.

I use a PM so that I can be a total a-hole if necessary and have no personal relationship, and no emotions involved and treat my properties like a business. I also am an investor first, so having to do my property manager's job for them would not be cool. If they aren't doing what you want fire them and hire a new PM.

402-965-1853