Old House Disclosure Statement

4 Replies

Hi, my name is Nate and I am new to BP and new to rental real estate. I flipped a few homes and have decided to try a longer term approach. I am close to closing on my first deal involving 3 multi-family homes that were built in the 1920's and total 13 apartments. The homes are safe and clean, but have antique railings (wide gaps), some knob and tube wiring, and asbestos based building materials.

I am in the midst of writing my lease agreement and would like people's opinion on the benefits or necessity of adding the following disclosure statement to the Indemnity Section:

"HISTORIC HOME DISCLOSURE - The Owners disclose that the Property was built before modern building codes existed with building practices and materials that were common at the time. The Tenant(s) agrees that they will indemnify, defend and hold the Owner harmless for any damage or injury resulting from building practices or materials that were used in the construction of this Property."

Thank you in advance for your thoughts!

@Nate Baumann

Not sure that your waver would amount to any form of protection - but I am not an attorney.

Here, insurers have becoming more and more reluctant to underwrite buildings with active knob-and-tube - there are only two covering our are who will and the premiums are punitive.

When it comes to asbestos, it really depends on where the asbestos is used, whether it is friable and if there is any possibility of exposure to the inhabitants.  While most jurisdictions require disclosure of asbestos on sale of a property, there are few to-date which require disclosure when renting (but it is coming).  That said, the liability of knowing about the presence of asbestos in the living area or HVAC system (ie in plaster or floor tiles, duct wrap/mastic), but not disclosing it could come back to bite you if something ever did occur.