I'm not renewing the lease . . .

8 Replies

For a military couple.  The husband was deployed out of the country for 6-9 months recently and unfortunately, the wife doesn't know how to maintain our townhouse.  I have had thousands of mold, landscape and appliance damage/replacements in the last 4 months. I'm not going to bore you with my tale of woe.  I'm sucking it up because of the situation. 

All I know is that I'm getting them out of the property after the lease expires.  I understand the early termination clause for active military, but there's no problem for not renewing a lease, right? 

I'll still feel guilty.  

You should check to see if you need to give them advance notice. The amount varies depending where you live.

You are justified in kicking them out when the lease expires. It's natural to feel guilty. However If tenants can't take care of your property, then you should look for better tenants. 

I'm a veteran and I can corroborate that there are some families that do not maintain their housing area.  Don't feel guilty about not renewing the lease. First, this is a business and you need to do what you have to do.

Second, military bases have housing for families and they probably will be able to get it.

Third, assignments at bases usually are for 2-3 years, at least when I was active duty, so they would be moving eventually anyway.

Expect them to resist you on this though, and attack on your patriotism possibly.  Stick to your plan.  They will do fine.  The military takes care of their own, or at least they did when I was in.

Originally posted by @Carlos Enriquez :

I'm a veteran and I can corroborate that there are some families that do not maintain their housing area.  Don't feel guilty about not renewing the lease. First, this is a business and you need to do what you have to do.

Second, military bases have housing for families and they probably will be able to get it.