Collecting Rent on LLC Name or not

27 Replies

Hello there, I am new to buy and hold investing and closing my first property very soon. The house is on my name (not on LLC). My concern is that I don't want a tenant to know my full name and my details that I actually own the house, I would like to act as a property manager instead. Yes I'll be using a P O Box address where they will send a payment (I'll be lucky if they can pay online). In other words, I don't want to use my name on the lease, I'd rather form a LLC and use the LLC name instead of mine. Maryland is not the cheapest when it comes to LLC fees. Is this my fear due to being new. So coming to two questions now. Should I create a LLC that a tenant will write checks to and will that really do anything? Second, if the tenant asks me if I own the house, can I say it's owned by a person who doesn't choose to disclose but the LLC is managing it? Or should I suck it up, mention since day 1 that I am the landlord and not care what they think.

Thank you in advance. 

@Lakshay G.

It's public record you own it, so my vote is to not care what they think. Since I'm in a community property state, I could refer to "my partner" (aka my wife) whenever talking to the tenants. It helps especially if you're managing property and fielding complaints.

Don’t know about Maryland, but in my area is very easy to find who owns the property anyways, and I believe on being straight forward. Don’t know why they should care that you own the house or not.

You don't need an LLC, you can set up a DBA for probably less work and $$ (dunno about MD specifically)

Doesn't really make a difference, your business name can go on the lease, bank account, checks, etc.

Some people will ask, many won't care one way or another. I originally thought it was a big deal, but I haven't found that people really don't care one way or another. As long as you give them what they expect in terms or their place to live, you're pretty much good to go.