What to do before you hire a contractor.

2 Replies

I am finally interviewing several contractors and GCs about starting work on a 3bd 2 ba in Long Beach, CA.  

Some of them are referrals or have good reviews online.

I have some questions that I plan to ask, including if they are insured, licensed, and to see if they do work on investment properties, rather than regular homes.  I also plan to ask if they will break out their remodeling costs so that my CPA can accurately depreciate the work done on the property.

I was wondering if any of the BP community has a checklist that they use when interviewing and hiring a contractor?

I have read J Scott's book on estimating Rehab costs, but being in California, the numbers will probably be way above what he states.

Personally I have done some light electrical, plumbing, and remodeled a bathroom, so I have some construction knowledge.  I need to get this project done so that it can start producing some income and appreciate the help!

A house is a house , it doesnt matter to the contractor if its an investment property or not , they are built the same . 

Havent a clue what breaking out the remodeling cost means as far as your accountant . 

As far as vetting a contractor , check licenses , ask for insurance , workmans comp , check your state judiciary for lawsuits , check the licensing board . 

Dont hire "chuck in a truck " .  A professional contractor isnt cheap , but will pay off in the long run . 

@Matthew Paul  I was referring to the article that @Brandon Hall wrote about BARRRR.  https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/forget-brrrr-try-barrrr/

Brandon had mentioned that you don't want a contractor to just give you an invoice that simply says something such as "Bathroom, $10,000"  rather that some of the work should be broken out as different work can be depreciated at different rates.