Screening tenants/handling paperwork

6 Replies

Hi everyone, my name is Jon. I hope everyone is well. I am a newbie with my first ever property under contract. I wanted to be preemptive and see if anyone would be willing to give advice on how experienced investors screen their tenants and what paperwork is used. I am aware that there are companies that do it, but charge a lot. So I wanted to see if it was better to do it yourself using cheaper alternatives like RentPrep, etc. I hope to connect with others here. 

We run their credit through our software.  Al else we verify on our own.  We check for ownership records when they list a landlord and make sure we are talking to the acctual owner, not their friend.  We verify their income wtih W-2's and calls. Also linked in and google searches.  

I'm getting better at this.  I am in a C area.   I do the same as the previous poster, but also: 

- Facebook! I stalk a lot thru facebook once I get an application. If you aren't in a C or worse area, this probably isn't as important but still important.  It's almost guaranteed anyone younger than like 40 will have one in a C/worse area, but may have weird fake names. Look for boyfriends that aren't on the app but are garbage gangster people.  I can't count the number of seemingly good applicants with their lives together have a POS baby daddy waving guns around on FB.  

- Send a simple questionnaire with a release signed by the tenant to their previous landlords. Mine has questions like "would you rent to this person again" "how many times were they late" etc.  The corporate places will want a signed release and questions faxed over so they can go to their files, mom-and-pop places will often just freely speak their mind over the phone.