Short Term Vacation Rental Investing: Regulations

5 Replies

Good Day BP Community!

I am looking to invest in my first - hopefully of many - Short Term Vacation Rental along the east coast (North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida).

I've found through research that STR Regulations are inevitable due to pressure applied from large hotel corporations. Does anyone have any insight as to how this might affect - or has affected - the STR business in the states listed above?

Has anyone felt the effects of regulations in those states?

Florida is generally very friendly towards STR overall, but it really depends on the local regulations and even the HOA. "Condotels" are popular in some parts of Florida, where every condo in the complex is available to rent on a short term basis and sometimes (as an owner) your HOA fee will help cover the cost of the HOA to manage the listing for you. I'm not an expert on Florida at all, but I know STR is super common there and can be very lucrative if done correctly. I'm not familiar with the other states regulations.

Originally posted by @Devin Fakner :

Good Day BP Community!

I am looking to invest in my first - hopefully of many - Short Term Vacation Rental along the east coast (North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida).

I've found through research that STR Regulations are inevitable due to pressure applied from large hotel corporations. Does anyone have any insight as to how this might affect - or has affected - the STR business in the states listed above?

Has anyone felt the effects of regulations in those states?

- Very Respectfully,

Devin Fakner, MBA

You are going to be more specific to your search. Each city is passing their own STR regulations.