Most Common Tenant Questions?

12 Replies

Hi everyone,

What are the most common topics for calls/emails you get (or your management company gets) from tenants? I'm trying to determine how best to implement building management on a 7 unit C class property i'm looking at in Albany NY. 

I hear a lot of horror stories about the dreaded '3am phone call' but how common is that really? 

What are the areas that tenants commonly call and complain about, demanding solutions?

Thanks all,
Dan

The only thing I get are minor easily fixed repair requests through messaging.  When that happens I call the appropriate repair person, the repair person goes to unit and fixes whatever it is, and then I electronically pay the repair person. Problem solved. 

You'd be surprised how little work it is. Of course I worked as a waiter in restaurants for 15 years so I'm comparing it to that.  The amount of work I had to do in a typical lunch shift where I maybe made 100 bucks FAR outweighs what I do on a monthly basis managing my 14 units.  I could see it getting out of hand at maybe 50 units, but until then I plan on just managing with the good ol iPhone and the Internet. But thats just me. 

I also have well screened tenants in all my units but of course we all already learned how to do that from the BP podcasts. 

Oh and in 5 years I've never got a 3am phone call. Even if I did I'd be sleeping and they would have to wait until morning anyway. 

Honestly at first what I did is just went on Yelp and sorted by the profession of the thing that needed fixing.  I then sorted by the highest ranked and went down the list calling each one. I now have about 30 phone numbers saved in my phone of all the various trades who know me, show up, and do a good job each time.