Good Tenant Wants Boyfriend to Move in But...

13 Replies

Hello BP!

I'm new to landlording and looking for some advice.  I have a good tenant that wants her boyfriend to move in.  

The good:

His credit report shows zero missed payments

His girlfriend's father is our handyman and one of his previous landlords

He has been at his job since 2006

The bad:

He already asked to use some of the storage space to store gear for his hobbies

He just took out a loan for 105k for a boat (also 10k owed on car, makes 50k/yr)

He asked to store the boat on the property

So far I have said ok to storing the gear, but need to establish some ground rules (looking for advice here too).  Also, advised that we do not know our plans for the space and he may have to move his stuff out at some point in the future.  I told him no to the boat.

Please let me know what you would do in this situation.  Any advice is helpful (whether or not he cam move in, terms, ect).

Thank you in advance!

Here's what I would do.  Gem up another lease for the storage building.  Set the rent and put in the lease that you will give a 30 day notice for vacating his things.  I would make the rent higher than a storage unit so that he is discouraged from storing his stuff there, and you can do what you want with that space whenever you feel like doing it.  Good job on telling him no on the boat.  Add that to your lease along with campers, 18 wheelers, ATVs, and whatever else you don't want on your property. 

This is the line that concerns (and frankly confuses) me.  "His girlfriend's father is our handyman and one of his previous landlords"

When you say 'his girlfriends' I think you are referring to your current tenant.  So, your current wants to move in her boyfriend and the current tenants dad is your handyman.