Advice for 29 palms, CA area

17 Replies

Hi Everyone, 

I'm a real estate newbie about to make my first purchase in 29 palms.  Any member have experience with the 29 palms area as a short-term rental? 

My husband and I plan on using it as a short-term rental and vacation home. We are leaning towards the 29 palms purchase because of the size of the property and proximity to the National Park entrance. 

However, I've heard some conflicting sentiments about the area.   Either people love it or hate it (drugs, petty theft). 

@Jenine Civil

As an active duty Marine, 29 Palms has a special and interesting place in my heart.  Buying a property there to use as a short term rental is something I have never considered but I would caution you.. While it is close to Joshua Tree and not too far from Palm Springs, I have never thought of 29 Palms as a viable vacation destination.. I recommend researching if there are any other STRs there and see if you can find out how many nights out of the year they are booked.  If your heart is set on 29 Palms, I recommend looking into buying a long-term rental and finding a good military tenant to pay your mortgage for you.  Best of luck!

I'll second @Sean M. 's assessment. If you are wanting to do STR I would look more at Joshua Tree itself or maybe Yucca Valley. 29 Palms is heavily associated with the base. But you never know...

The location in that area is key. You have the military out there bringing most of the business there but that is pretty much all and some vacationers for Joshua tree. Not heavily populated so when the next recession sets in the values can spiral real fast. With that being said location , amenities and price should keep you okay.

Thank you @Sean M. and @Edward B. for the advice! Unfortunately, YV/JT has limited inventory. 

There is some Airbnb action in the area. Both the Twenty Nine Palms Inn and Roughley Manor have great reviews. I'll take a look at the occupancy rates.