STR Analysis for Dummies

27 Replies

Hi all,

Newbie here. Thinking of purchasing an STR condo. It's a bit convoluted because I can use both, the property management company (51%! cost but house keeping/check-in included) or I could bring in the business myself through VRBO/Airbnb/Booking.com. For that I would have to pay a $55/check-in cleaning fee and $42/check-in fee (possibly by-passable). Planning on financing 20% HELOC and 80% Loan. I prepared a spreadsheet with an assumptions tab but there are so many variables, my head is spinning. It's a mountain resort with things to do year-round with April/October/November being slow. Listings for similar properties is about $90/night. Assuming a 30% vacancy to be safe. HELP! Am I too pessimistic? I will try to attach my spreadsheet if I can figure out how. TIA!

Updated 8 months ago

Maybe this will work: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1xt8cQsGU1H0bJD_GPBnv1bI_aMnOHgrt/view?usp=sharing The assumptions tab drives most of the variables. I don't know how else to share it.

We need way more info. Purchase price and actual location would be nice :) 

If it's a condo that actually allows STR then the mortgage will be "non-warrantable" which brings a whole other mess of worms that are possible to navigate but it'll make your profits go down pretty quick.

We’ll also need to know what your goals are. Are you trying to... 

A. Cash flow a couple of bucks? 

B. Cash flow hard and buy a bunch of units and quit your job? 

C: Have a spot to spend time that pays for itself or only loses a minimal  amount? 

Typed on an iPhone while watching football 

Hey @Elena Casey . That is a tough one. I assume you are trying to take advantage of winters at Attitash and summers for North Conway? Bartlett is a good choice due to lower taxes.

I would be a little hesitant to pay those fees if I didn't have to. There are several ski condo's right at the base of Attitash, but also some cool houses not that far away.