Newbie in Ashburn Va

8 Replies

Hello BP!

I'm a newbie looking for my first duplex in the Charles town WV area. So far I've got  pre-approved by the bank for 230k. I've spoken with Mr. Blood at Blackwell realty ( also my property manager) and I'm currently looking for a duplex that cash flows. 

I done have two questions. 1 do I need a lawyer? 2 do I need a accountant?

Finally, I'm educating myself. I've listened to 20+pb podcasts, 50+ Jason Hartman podcasts, and read 5+ books on REI. I'm really looking forward to my first deal!!!

Welcome to BP. I do not see why you would need a lawyer unless you are partnering and creating an LLC. As it relates to an accountant, I would recommend one that does your taxes yearly to make sure you file with your investment property accurately. Until that time you do not need an accountant Hope this helps

Hi Bobby,

Welcome to BP! I'm here in Charles Town and always keeping my eye out for properties. Care to share anything more about what you're looking for? If I see anything that fits your criteria I could pass it your way.

Regarding your two specific questions about an attorney and an accountant, it is my general advice that you always work with business professionals when conducting business. You don't "need" them, but I certainly recommend them. They can help you stay out of trouble you didn't know existed, and also stay focused on the aspects if your business that actually interest you.

From the title of your post I see you are located in Ashburn. What made you choose Charles Town WV for your next purchase?

-Josh

Hi @Bobby Scurlock ,

Welcome to BiggerPockets!

You might need an attorney if your transaction requires one for the closing. You may only require an escrow and title company to do your transaction in your state.

An accountant is not required for the closing, but you may need an accountant has a tax advisor when it comes to your financial affairs and how that property will affect your taxes, etc.