Motivated New Member from the Antelope Valley (CA)

18 Replies

Hello Everyone!

My name is Alfred Carrasquillo and I'm from the Antelope Valley in California. I just joined BiggerPockets a few days ago after finally deciding it's time to take action on this interest in real estate I've had since before I graduated high school (a long time ago). I'm greener than green but extremely excited about my future in real estate and I look forward to meeting, conversating and learning from this great community of people. I'm currently in the "education" phase and looking to establish a solid business plan/strategy for flipping and buying/hold properties. Any information, advise, "quick tips", well wishes, etc. anyone can offer is welcomed and would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance to all BiggerPockets members who contribute to this site. I've already learned so much from all the amazing posts / information that can be found all over this site.

Welcome to BiggerPockets, @Alfred Carrasquillo .

Have you set up your keyword alerts yet? Be sure to include at least one for your local area so you can meet investors near you.

You say you are in the education phase. You are in the right place to learn. Be wary of "educational seminars" that cost thousands of dollars. You won't learn anything there that you can't learn here for free.

Check out the Podcast and Blog, too.

@Mindy Jensen,

I have setup keyword alerts for my name and market areas of interest. Thanks for the great tip! 

I've been listening to the BiggerPockets podcasts since last week. I started from the beginning with episode #1 and will be finishing up episode #24 on my way home from work today (8/28). Brandon & Josh talk a lot about the "educational seminars" and "Guru's" that charge ridiculous fees that can be better used / applied to future investment opportunities. I've definitely been taking notes. I haven't submerged myself into the blogs yet but that's definitely on my long list of things to do.