New, from Sterling Massachusetts

17 Replies

The time is right for me.  I am a budding RE investor who is researching the wide variety of options for investing, and starting to network.  I left a career as a Physical Therapist in Canada to relocate to the US with my husband.

My head is swimming with information overload so I've taken the time to write down what it is I hope to accomplish, what interests me the most, where I think I'll feel comfortable starting, and what/who my current resources are.  That has helped to ground my thoughts.

I'm new to investing and have lived in MA for just over a year.  Clearly one of my weaknesses is understanding the local market, local regulations, and what communities and neighborhoods are 'hot versus not' i.e. which have high crime, which are expensive, which have great rental potential, which are convenient for transit, etc. 

My current plan includes starting with a few buy and sell properties with minor rehab involved, and/or buy and hold rental properties.  I'm researching other interesting options such as probate and wholesaling, but really, I can't even list which of the options will be 'right' for me, partly because there are so many, but also because my knowledge and understanding are yet insufficient. 

My intent would be to 'work' within a half-hour radius initially, but expand my boundaries once I had some experience under my belt.  Ultimately, one of my goals is to own a property close to Boston that is available for personal use as well as rental income. 

If I, as a complete newbie, can be of any assistance to someone who is working on an investment project and needs someone with a bit of time on their hands... please let me know. Otherwise I'll have my eyes in books, on Bigger Pockets, on Meetup, on REIA groups, on practicing analyzing deals, and making connections with people.

I look forward to getting to know many of you!

Welcome @Lydia S. !