Newbie Investor from Norfolk, Va.

10 Replies

Hey guys, I'm Shawn from the Norfolk, Va and I am brand new to real estate investing and currently reasearching the avenue of buy and hold investing in rental properties. I want to build a portfolio of single family, dueplex, triplex and quads in the Hampton Rhoads area of Va. I have about had enough of the "rat-race" and I'm ready to become financially free thru real estate investing.

Welcome Shawn!

We all have to start somewhere and BP has a wealth of knowledge to help get you out of the"rat race". I look forward to seeing your success in real estate and life!

Originally posted by @Account Closed :

Hey guys, I'm Shawn from the Norfolk, Va and I am brand new to real estate investing and currently reasearching the avenue of buy and hold investing in rental properties. I want to build a portfolio of single family, dueplex, triplex and quads in the Hampton Rhoads area of Va. I have about had enough of the "rat-race" and I'm ready to become financially free thru real estate investing.

Welcome Shawn! We are turnkey operators in CLE outside of your immediate area, but, until I got into turnkey I was part of the rat-race and I am happy I got out and I have not looked back since. You will want to begin on BP and read as much as you can, do your homework build a strong team. Don't be afraid to make mistakes, but if you could find a mentor that has made the mistakes its a lit cheaper that way :)

Welcome to Bigger Pockets!

I'm in the same boat as you right now. I'm out of Hampton, VA. Have you joined up with any REI groups in the area? A lot of these groups use Meetup. If not I highly recommend it.

Also, I'm an electrical contractor, which I find is a big help with REI personally. If you need any Electrical or construction advice or work feel free to contact me.

Wish you luck.