New Member From Connecticut

18 Replies

Hi Everyone,

My name is Matthew Irvine, I am a 25 year old living in southern Fairfield County, CT. I am new to real estate, and have not yet purchased a property. I have listened to many of the podcasts and begun reading 'Rich Dad Poor Dad'. I have some low level knowledge from a real estate class I took in college and light reading I have done over the past 2 years. I currently work full time, but am looking to begin purchasing in the coming 12 months, with the goal of buy and hold in mind.

I appreciate any advice and tips, either generally or about my market. Happy to be joining and hope to be a regular on the forum going forward.

Best,
Matt

Matt,

Welcome to BP. Since you are looking to be a buy and hold investor look into CHFA loans and maybe look into house hacking as well. You may be able to get into a multi family with very very very (they have closing cost assistance) money down and get your feet wet when it comes to land lording.

Best of luck to you!

@Matthew Irvine, good to have you on board Matthew. Nice I see you showing interest in real estate. The community here on bigger pockets is extremely helpful and knowledgeable & although I wouldn't be of much help in regards to your particular market, I am a buy and hold investor myself. So I've had my bumps in the road and have seen success within. If you have questions please feel free to pm me and I will be as helpful as I possibly can!

Have a great day and happy investing...

Welcome to the Bp community! I'm also a beginner in Connecticut and it's great to see other! Use bigger pockets to help you learn as much information as you want there are hundreds of hours worth of information here, and the best part is that it's FREE! Yes FREE!!! Also look into CT REIA they host monthly meetings every 3rd Monday of the month, happy holidays!