New from Cincinnati, OH - TriPlex under contract!

5 Replies

Hello Everyone! 

I've been reading books and listening to the BP podcast for 2 or 3 months now and decided to jump in last Friday by submitting an offer on a Tri-Plex and they accepted! I'm from the Cincinnati area and the Tri-Plex is in the South Lebanon area.

I'll be doing a house hack by moving into one of the units and essentially getting paid to live there! Which is so cool! Using an FHA loan with 3.5% down. If all goes as planned, will be closing at the end of July.

About me: 

- Graduated with a degree in Engineering Physics with an emphasis in Mechanical Systems from Murray State University

- Graduated college and moved to Cincinnati area in summer of 2017

- I work as a design engineer at a large medical device company

- Hobbies: Building things/tinkering, playing music (classical guitar and regular guitar, cello, bass, etc.), building and flying remote control aircraft, kayaking, fishing, hiking, being outside in general. 

My goal is to have a 6-figure income coming in through real estate by the time I'm 30. I'm 22 so I have 7 and a half years to do that, which should be doable!  I love my job and don't foresee myself leaving it ever. If I want to start my own company later on, having a 2nd income would help reduce the risk of that since I wouldn't be dependent on my current 9-to-5 to pay the bills. I'll be getting married at the end of the year so also having the option to not rely on a job so I can spend more time with my future family is exciting. 

Anyways, hello everyone! I'm excited to be starting down this path!