New Investor in Alaska

9 Replies

Hi All,

Wanted to introduce myself to the BP community-- I've been a longtime lurker here but have only recently started posting, and have been amazed by the wealth of information to be found!

A bit about me: I'm an engineer in the mining industry by trade, originally from southern CA but have migrated my way across the country to eventually land in Alaska, working outside Fairbanks but living down in Anchorage when not at work. I recently closed on my first property-- a 4plex picked up using an FHA mortgage near downtown Anchorage. I finished flipping the first unit a week ago, and I'm moving right along to getting the other 3 completed! Going forward I am looking to move into more multi-family rentals and potentially into flips. I'm finding that done right, these can be absolute gold mines-- and I would know!

Tom,

Welcome to bigger pockets! I love this site so much. The bigger pockets team and community has given me so much confidence and knowledge on real estate. I hope your real estate journey does well for you.

Brent

@Tom Schneider

Welcome to the BP family! Glad you joined the best real estate investing website! Here are some recommendations for you:

Find and connect with other BP members that are in your area: http://www.biggerpockets.com/meet
Set up keyword alerts to be notified of the topics that interest you: http://www.biggerpockets.com/alerts
Read Beginner’s Guide: http://www.biggerpockets.com/real-estate-investing
Check out BP Podcasts: http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/category/podcast/

If you wish to tag someone in the conversation on the forum, type @ followed by their name and then select the name of that person which should appear below the comments box. He or she will be notified of being tagged so that the conversation will continue.

Wishing you the best!

Welcome, Tom! Look at you with your gold mine joke....you're going to fit in perfectly around here ;)