Aspiring Investor in Dallas, Texas

6 Replies

Hellooo!!!

I'm Gerax from Dallas, TX. I'm a newbie trying to get into real estate investing. I don't have any prior experience. I currently work full-time as a technician. So far, my goals in the next decade are to have a few rental properties, and maybe flip some houses along the way. I have been teaching myself whatever I can online and through books. I just recently started and I know it will take a long time. I'm a bit nervous, but I'm also really excited about this journey. I first heard about BiggerPockets through one of Graham Stephan's YouTube videos. He recommended the book "The book on Rental Property Investing" so I bought it and now I'm here! I hope to get to meet many of you and to learn as much as I can from this awesome website.

See you around!

@Gerax Sotelo Welcome to BP!

Definitely dive into as many podcasts & books as you can - as there is nothing better than free education. I know that's how I started - and make sure that when you're ready to get more involved and hands on, that you start to build a strong team around yourself - especially for flips. I know a handful of people that rushed into flipping homes and it's been a disaster. 

REI is great though and has provided me with a life I never thought I could have. If you stick to it and hustle - you're bound to do great things.

100% agree with @Kenneth McKeown on this one. Just outwork everyone else and good things are bound to happen eventually. The Rich Dad books are good to read about general entrepreneurship with some real estate specific advice too. 

@Kenneth McKeown , @Dylan Barnard