New Member Introduction

8 Replies

Hey, all I'm Shawn. I'm an Interior Designer in Rochester, NY and a newbie to the world of Realest Investing. I discovered BiggerPockets while attending a seminar by @Matthew Drouin  last weekend. This site is incredible and I have already learned a lot already. I have owned propety in the past, just not for investment purposes. My goal is to have my first property in 6 months. I'm interested in house haking a double, and then have my next property within a year. 

I am socially minded and am passionate about gentrification without displacement. I believe there is room for everyone in our community and that providing quality housing that is affordable is important. It's a balance of profit and compassion. This is my why. Yes I want to become rich and wealthy, and I want to do it while helping my city prosper as well.

and congratulations on getting started! Best of luck in all your endeavors.Welcome @Shaw

@Shawn O'Hara welcome aboard BiggerPockets and you are definitely in the right places. I could also strongly suggest you to join local Real Estate local gathering as well. We usually meet on second Thursday of each month. Your main job is learning what Real Estate is all about, you seem to have a strong “why” for using RE as your investment vehicle. We shared the same value: Affordable Housing and I also consider myself social entrepreneur.

Feel free to reach out to me. I have been investing in Rochester since 2013.

Alex

Once again welcome!!

Hi @AlexJones thanks for the nice welcome, and the great advice. That's the one thing that blows my mind is how helpful and willing folks are on here to help me succeed. Definitly keeps me motivated and encouraged. I do have a strong "Why" building a strong community has always been a passioin for me. I will be sure to checkout the local Real Estate events. I feel like a sponge right now and am trying to soak-up all the information I can. I look forward to connecting with you!

Best,