New Member Introduction

11 Replies

Hello!

My name is Aaliyah and I am new to the BiggerPockets community! 

I’ve joined on Sept. 4 and have been researching, reading the forums, and listening to the BiggerPockets podcasts since. I am currently in the research stage with a high interest to start off investing in single and multi-family homes. 

I would like to earn additional cash flow without having to work for others all my life, so that I can live the way I want as I have nobody to depend on. I am willing to be patient and put in the hard work.

I currently reside in Tallahassee, FL and am looking to move to Phoenix, AR by November of next year. I currently am looking to connect with like minded individuals who love to learn and want to make money as much as I do and people who I can learn from!

While I don’t have my complete list of questions to ask, I decided to stop waiting and throw myself out there.

For someone who is just getting into real estate investing, what financial investment strategies would you guys recommend for someone who has very little extra cash and doesn’t want, or can’t use their credit? What’s your favorite(s) and why?

Also, I’ve learned from a podcast that Detroit is actually a really good market place, pretty much the best in the country for investors. Would you recommend a new investor, like myself, get involved in out-of-state investing, once I’ve already moved to Phoenix, AR? If so, how often should the out-of-state property be visited and what are the main differences than if it was in state. If not, how long would you recommend a beginner to wait before starting to invest out-of-state?

That’s all the questions I have for now. I apologize if I went on too much. 

Thank you guys so much for your time. If there’s anyone in my area who would like to meet up and talk real estate I’m all ears. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me!

Thank you all!