Do i have a good realtor and how am i doing

8 Replies

Good evening all,

Im a noob investor in the Tampa area and in need of advice on my realtor and if im on the right path. Two years ago we met our realtor on craigslist and he helped my wife and i to buy our first duplex in New Port Ritchie. It was our first and we just wanted to start the path. It was $135k, we used Regions and overpaid on the down payment; $40k, $3500 for repairs to bring it up to S8 code. As you would have it as soon as the renters moved in an issue came up with both AC units. $4500 later we were on our way to investors. Last year one asked for a cover over the exterior washer/dryer. So we added one for each side @ $1200 total. The tenants are still with us for a second term and no repairs or issues so far.

Used a HELOC to purchase our second last year in Busch/Nebraska area for $100k, $20k down and $1200 to repair the fascia. One tenant decided to stay at a higher rent and the other we are honoring until August so waiting to see what happens there. This property will require most likely a new roof in the near future, and we were prepared to put in $7k worth of work but tenant was fine with the way it was and he has been there for 13+ years. So if hes okay we are okay. If the second moves out we will update to S8 code and rent it out for more, currently at $500/month. First tenant is at $765. We pay water but is included in lease amount.

So here we are...

We were able to refi the first and pull $21k. We will use that as down payment for new property this year. But we are limited in the areas for obvious reasons. I think we could have gotten a better price for the second unit but it was a NET sale. We have sat down with the realtor and explained our goals to buy 1/yr and as we acquire more maybe 2/yr. We hope to buy two this year.