1920s fix n flip Fireplace Can I REmove IT? Columbus, Ohio

14 Replies

these old houses with the 100 yr old fireplaces that have not work in 50 years, do they really add value? Or is that just what people tell themselves to get out of removing them?

I am totally new to doing work in these old houses, and so far everything I want to do or would want in my own house, I am being told is totally wrong for this type of house. 

I get that these places have an old school style, but can't you recreate that with modern clean looking materials. 

The fireplaces in these houses, in my opinion, are an eyesore and wasted space. In my case with this 1920s house, it's going to prevent opening up the 1st floor, due to sitting between the wall separating the living room, and dining room.

If it was on an exterior wall, I would still want to frame it in and make use of the space. Since it is not, I would love to remove it if possible, and does not lose value. If either is true, its still getting framed in, other then the mantel, it's not in show shape anyway.

Originally posted by @Matt Williams :

these old houses with the 100 yr old fireplaces that have not work in 50 years, do they really add value? Or is that just what people tell themselves to get out of removing them?

I am totally new to doing work in these old houses, and so far everything I want to do or would want in my own house, I am being told is totally wrong for this type of house. 

I get that these places have an old school style, but can't you recreate that with modern clean looking materials. 

The fireplaces in these houses, in my opinion, are an eyesore and wasted space. In my case with this 1920s house, it's going to prevent opening up the 1st floor, due to sitting between the wall separating the living room, and dining room.