What's next after flipping?

22 Replies

I've been flipping houses for a few years now and I've done around 20 flips which in turn have allowed me to buy rental property's.

But between me burning out on flipping and the low inventory and the massive numbers of flippers and the low returns, I'm not seeing a solid yearly salary I can pull in from it.

I am planning to buy some short term rental properties but any money pulled in from them will not be touched for around 8 years.

So I'm trying to figure my next step in my real estate career

I need to make money to keep me afloat over this period.

And please don't read this as I'm not grateful for what I have. I've worked super hard to get to this position and I count my blessing daily. I just really want to keep the momentum going.

Thanks

What you've found out is flipping isn't the answer as a substitute for income...cash flow is, but you need to flip to get the cash to buy the cash flow.

This isn't a "Chicken and egg" scenario though.

Here's how I do/did it:

1 - Take your initial money (seed money) and grow it by flipping it and reinvesting the profit back into it.

2 - Repeat step until you reach a certain point (only you can decide this $ Number) where you no longer need to grow your seed money.  That's why you're reinvesting your flip profits...to grow your seed money.

3 - Continue to flip your "new and improved" seed money, but now instead of reinvesting it back into your seed money, use these profits to buy your cash flow properties.

4 - Continue to flip your seed money (never spend your seed money), and spend the profits on additional cash flow properties.

5 - Repeat until you have reached your $Goal for cash flow...then pocket the seed money...that you never spent.

The key is to:

A)  Never, ever "spend" your seed money.  Grow it, & "use" it to infinity, never, EVER, spend it.