Podcast 122-Risk Input

5 Replies

Hi All,

I am starting to build on my real estate investments as my introduction said not to long ago.  Since I have joined BP I have been listening to many of the Podcasts and reading several books.  The most recent one Podcast I have listened to is 122.  The comments by Chris Clothier were awesome but the comments on Risk are Spot On!

I say this because I am a military pilot with a year away from retiring.  I always enjoy talking to people about flying.  I always talk about the fun and my passion for flying rather than the risks involved.  My job as pilot is to understand the risk, learn about the risk, analyze the risk and mitigate the risk which is the same as a real estate investor.

As I learn more about real estate my confidence has increased exponentially; in other words I am learning how to mitigate the risks associated with real estate investing.   My business model has become more refined and I am more confident in what I am investing in. I know what to look for and questions to ask.   Simply put in my view, my mitigation of the risks is allowing me to see what real estate can do for me.   

Does this mean I am bolder...no.  As the saying in flying goes-There are bold pilots and there are old pilots but there are no old bold pilots. 

I have progressed to where in the next month I am going to make my first attempt at a commercial loan for a mutli-unit rental.   Win or lose on this presentation I will walk away with more education from my experience.  Do I want private investors-yes and I'll take them but until private investors know me I have to find other means.

I know that it is easier said then done and there is a lot more to this.  If anyone has anything to say or correct me on please do.

Ken