Elevator pitch mindset change

6 Replies

I have spent some time today reflecting on my RE investing.  During my time, I concluded that I have not been telling others that I am an investor when I meet new people.  I have a full time job as an engineer and when I meet people on a plane or in other places, I seem to always mention my full time job first during my introduction rather than mention that I am an investor in Real Estate.  I know that if I mentioned RE first, we may have a totally different conversation and may even make some great contacts that would be helpful in my business.  Yet when I meet someone my full time job seems to come out first.

Is this something that other people have had to work through in the past?  Would anyone have any advice as to how to get my mindset to change and be more natural at mentioning my investing?

Thanks

Jim

Jim,

(Complete opinion... no facts to bacK this up). I'm an engineer too (or rather a grad student in mechanical engineering) and it is far more comfortable for me to talk about that with strangers than real estate investing. For me... it's because real estate is just a hobby now and not a full fledged business that I am vested in. In the future (should I ever scale up and actually get a business model off the ground) I think I would have more motivation to talk about real estate. It's probably a matter of pride (good engineering accomplishments, not so good real estate accomplishments).

Long story short... Perhaps it is just a matter of thinking of your investing as your business / job as well.

~Diner

P.S. I'm looking for an engineering internship... if you happen to know of any...I would not mind a private message.