New investor in Chicago

17 Replies | Chicago, Illinois

I am a new investor in Chicago looking network with other investors, learn about the potential return on investment, and learn about C+ neighborhoods which are suitable for investment.

Welcome to BP!  I'm a developer, general contractor and investor in the Chicago Area.  Feel free to connect.  

@Einat Menashe Welcome!  It really depends on if you are looking to buy/hold or try and flip.  There are still some C class (more often D class neighborhoods) in Chicago where you can find the "1% rule" applies, but typically they are a good distance from city center and you may have to deal with similar class tenants. Anything C+ and above you will find that its very hard to hit the 1% rule unless you do a decent size rehab. 

If you are open to SFH in the suburbs Id recommend looking about 25 miles SW or South where you can secure homes for around $100,000 that will rent for $1300-1400/mo. Just watch out for the taxes which are typically higher VS Chicago.

@Jake Fugman thank you for your reply. I am looking for rentals and I am looking to use the BRRR strategy. I am hoping to hit the1% or higher so I surprise to hear that it is hard to do, but thank you for your honesty. Do you own any rentals in Chicago?

@Einat Menashe   If you are willing/able to do medium to large rehabs to the unit(s) it will be possible to hit the 1% rule but there wont be anything turn key in area that have seen 5-10% appreciation in recent years (near west and NW sides).  The west side and near south sides of the city are the areas to look for the 10%+ cap rates but you wont find that they have good potential for appreciation. 

@Einat Menashe  So You want to buy in the Chicago Metro area. Have you looked for/found an investor friendly realtor? Since you are out of state, have you visited any of the city/suburban areas that you want to invest?  Do you have any idea the price range or type of properties you want to buy?