Hello from Elmhurst, IL

13 Replies

Hello everyone, I'm an Illinois newbie in this business, and I'm not sure how to introduce myself; I have a full-time job (mech. designer) that pays my current mortgage, and I'm determined to join your club. No savings, so I would finance the investment 100% (use my HELOC for downpayment + mortgage loan for the remaining balance). I want to generate monthly cash flow so I'm thinking buy and hold (rent).

My problem is today I'm looking at Dallas - Fort Worth area, tomorrow at Nashville TN area, then Indianapolis, then I read some posts here and I move to Columbus, OH, or Atlanta, GA. Well, probably any of these places can be either good or bad choices, just need to get as much info as I can. Also, joined Roofstock family, as well as Homeunion, and I was convinced that SF homes would be the best option, but after spending some time on your forum, I think multiplex units are better for a first timer like myself.
I'm looking at 100-150K properties, I would like B zones, so if anybody can help me in any aspect of the process - I'm really interested in learning about the cities I mentioned here.
Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Hey @Adrian Cartis Welcome to the world of REI! I think you can invest anywhere if you can establish a great team that can assist you! Are you looking for multi-family or SFH?

Welcome!  I’m a Fort Worth Realtor and have a duplex as well as the current place we’re in which will be a rental come next year.