New Member Introduction

22 Replies

I am a newbie from Washington DC. I am retired and new to real estate investment. I live overseas and plan to invest in the Washington DC area and in Indianapolis, IN. I have been reading books on REI and listening to Bigger Pockets webinars, forum and the Marketplace for the past year. I plan to buy distressed or outdated single-family homes in DC area and Indianapolis below market value to rehab and sale. I need to find a Realtor who is also a REI, a reliable contractor, and a property manager both in DC and in Indianapolis. Any assistance with these issues is highly appreciated.

@Rita Casco welcome to BP! You will find a lot of useful info here by searching your topics of interest. Add DC and Indy to your keywords alert to stay on top of discussions. Start networking with others to build your network. 

Welcome Rita. I’m currently living in the DC area and have been looking into the Indy market a lot the last few months. I’m no expert but I’ve learned a bit about some of the neighborhoods in Indy. As for DC it’s mostly out of my range so I haven’t looked into it much. Good luck, if you have any questions I’d be happy to help if I can.

Thank you Brian for your suggestions.  I will follow them 

Travis:  I will be in DC for 14 days beginning October 26.   I would like to get your phone number so that I may call you and talk about Indianapolis.   

Hello! @Rita Casco

Welcome to BP, and congratulations on making the decision to invest in your future via real estate.

I have written a few blog posts that may help you get started here on BP, and with your investing. Please click on the links, give them a read, and share your thoughts in the comments.

First is a post that I feel will help not get overwhelmed with the amount of info that is here on BP:

https://www.biggerpockets.com/blogs/5868/52761-the-simple-guide-to-getting-started-on-bp

The second is a post that will help get you focused with your real estate investing goals: