General Contractors

11 Replies

I'm new to the real estate market and am trying to find some reliable general contractors that do work in the North Houston area. Before I start getting  into distressed properties I want to feel comfortable with some GC's. What do you  guys think or should I just do the renovation myself. I have a budget of 20k set aside for renovation. All feedback is greatly appreciated..

In my area in Maryland 20K is a little renovation .  More like repairs and painting .  Doing it yourself , you gain experience on what is involved 

In your  opinion at what point should I get a General Contracto involved? 

Hi Timothy,

You can probably handle it yourself if it's a light makeover and freshen up, such as paint, carpets, exterior yard work and cleanup. I'd start thinking about using a GC if there are structural problems, wood rot, mechanical work, either plumbing or electrical, roof work, or more complicated carpentry such as hanging doors, repairing stairs and so on. A good GC can and will bid this work so you know what your in for, preferably before you commit to buying the house. The GC will also be able to do the work more quickly, assuming he is well equipped and has a good crew. If you do hire a GC pay attention to how he runs the job so that you can rehab a future flip yourself.

Best of luck,

Wayne V. You  make a very valid point that I don't believe  I had thought about before. Everything you  and Matthew Paul brought up  will be put into my back pocket. The knowledge  you  guys give is invaluable and surely appreciated.

@Mark Nolan I completely  agree I'm still trying to effectively use the site. Thanks for posting and I hope from learning a thing or two from you.