User Stats

Votes
Joseph Jordan
Votes |
Please help a newbie out!

Joseph Jordan
Posted Jul 24 2021, 13:49

Hi all,

Like many others I am new to real estate investing and decided I would finally stop thinking about it and actually move forward with trying to purchase, rehab, and sell my first investment property. I feel like I have done a good amount of research into the different aspects of the industry but still have so many questions that I thought some of you could help me with. A little background about me - I currently have a 9-5 and don't plan on quitting any time soon, although I don't really have much of anything in savings besides your typical 401k. I bought my first primary residence home back in 2015, fixed it up a bit but also lived in it for 5 years, then sold it and made roughly $120k due to the increase in the market over that span of time. I used most of that towards a down payment on my second/current primary residence, which now has roughly $200k equity.

I plan to use a hard money loan to finance most of the project (purchase + rehab), but will come up with 25% cash down payment towards the hard money loan as the lender I'm looking into says they will finance a max of 75% on the first project. The 25% cash down payment would come from a home equity loan of roughly $40k that I would take out on my primary residence. Just yesterday I filed for my LLC so I feel like I'm taking a step in the right direction, but wasn't sure if I absolutely NEED to purchase additional insurance on top of whatever protection the LLC provides me. The sales rep for the lender that I'm working with came up with a snapshot of the "flip economics" for the specific property I'm looking into and even with all the costs involved, still seems like it could be a good opportunity. I have attached a picture of the snapshot he provided me.