Going about investing in Notes using SD 401(k)

10 Replies

Hi Community!

I'm just getting started with my SD 401(k) and my first plan of action is to invest in notes as a way to get my feet wet. My questions are: Where is a good place to look for notes (I don't even know)? When I write the check out of my SD 401(k), am I investing the money to an individual or what? Is there a typical investment period with notes and how long are they?

Thanks everyone!

This post has been removed.

Yikes, looks like you're really starting from scratch. The last thing you should do right now is buy a note as it sounds like you have no clue what to do with them.

I'd recommend you seek out some of the newbie friendly conferences to get acquainted with the lingo, the vendors, the basics.

Most of them are junk but if you want to look at notes and get a feel for them, you can look up the exchanges such as FCI and Watermark.

@John Hodson

Investing in notes is a popular self-directed solo 401k investment. I invest about 20% of my portfolio in trust deeds. You may consider reaching out to some land developers and real-estate agents for list of borrowers. The company that you opened the self-directed solo 401k with should be able to provide guidance regarding how the investment should be titled, however, the 401k name and the trustee's name should be listed. The note terms depends on the solo 401k trustee and the borrower (what you both negotiate).

Originally posted by @Patrick Desjardins :

Yikes, looks like you're really starting from scratch. The last thing you should do right now is buy a note as it sounds like you have no clue what to do with them.

I'd recommend you seek out some of the newbie friendly conferences to get acquainted with the lingo, the vendors, the basics.

Most of them are junk but if you want to look at notes and get a feel for them, you can look up the exchanges such as FCI and Watermark.