Houston Real Estate Investors

9 Replies | Houston, Texas

Hello Bigger Pockets! I am 22 yrs old and  actively trying to expand my knowledge in Real Estate Investing. I am just getting started and have learned much on my own so far. Many podcasts i have listened to, recommend that a mentor is very important when starting out. I have attended meetup groups, but based on my experience it doesn't seem like I am taken serious. This is something I have very passionate about. Any advice for beginners looking for a mentor?

@Terra Smith Good question!! The problem why people don't take you serious is that there are so many people want to get in to real estate investing. Many experienced investors don't have time to help each and every one and surely in the past they might tried and people just vanish and don't even respect their time and acknowledge.  That's why many experienced investors stay away from mentoring because it's time consuming and at the end the investor just drops out and  do nothing. Why should I spend so much time for nothing??  Many investors never take their first, they are stuck in analysis paralysis mode and keep waiting for their first great deal which will never happen. 

Question is WIIFM - What is init for me??  That's what the question you need to think from their perspective.

Few smart enough to do mentorship by subscription but not many sign up because it's investment involved. I am not saying pay $25k and wait for magic to happen. If it's reasonable, try it out. 

We had similar thread about few months ago. Why should experienced investors even want to spend time when they know they are not going to get anything in return?  Also many new investors will say let's pick your brain, go for coffee.. That's not going to work.. They don't have time to take each and every one to coffee and see who is right to help..